PDA

View Full Version : MAT Video Settings Tutorial (And Performance Optimization)



EpicMAT
September 26th, 2010, 06:54 PM
Welcome to my first MAT Tutorial (<- Enough of a reason to bear with me)

I'll be discussing the video settings found in-game and how to optimize Mission Against Terror for optimal running.

Contents:
Locating The Options
The Big Four
Resolution
Color Settings
Aelotropic
Detail
The Visual Appealers
Full Screen/Windowed Mode
Brightness
The Performance Thugs
Shadow
Vertical Sync/v-sync
Trillinear Filtration


Locating The Options
To start off, the video settings can be accessed in two different ways (Depending on where you are):
In lobby = A sub setting of the Game settings which can be accessed on the top right of the screen by clicking "settings" and then on the "video tab"
http://i56.tinypic.com/s0y0t5.png

In game = Locate the "esc" key on your keyboard (top left) and press it. From there, you will be welcomed with a screen that has the option "settings" on it. Click "settings". From there, select "video".

http://i53.tinypic.com/205s6yo.jpg
http://i54.tinypic.com/14dge47.jpg


The Big Four
There are four very important options that could potentially hinder your gameplay.
Let's have a look at each setting, and their options:

Resolution

http://i51.tinypic.com/rhse43.png
What it is: It is what it says it is! It is the resolution of the game.
Options: 800x600, 1024x768, 1280x800, 1280x960, 1280x1024.
Best optimization: To get the most of the resolution, three things come into play: 1. Game resolution support; 2. Monitor/Display support; 3. Video Card Power. Basically, we can take away the first thing that comes into play in most games (Game resolution support) as we are limited to the options above. What really matters here is your monitor's resolution and how good your graphics card can handle video.
To check your Monitor's resolution, follow these instructions:
Windows XP:
Right click desktop, select properties, and then click on the settings tab on the top.
http://i52.tinypic.com/2eb8hz6.png
Windows Vista/7: Right click on your desktop and select screen resolution.
http://i56.tinypic.com/j81y79.png
Once you have seen your monitor's resolution options, chose MAT's resolution. Keep in mind that you cannot chose a resolution that is higher than your monitor's maximum display resolution and that the higher the resolution, the more your frames will drop, but the better the quality. If you have a medium-good video card, you should probably go with 1024x768 and up (If you have a monitor to support it), otherwise, go with a lower resolution for better performance.


Color Settings

http://i55.tinypic.com/2ltnhj.png
What it is: The number of colors displayed on the screen. (color depth) This refers to the amount of video memory that is required for each screen pixel.
Options: 16bit, 32bit.
Best optimization: 32bit displays twice as many colors as 16bit making anything that has high color detail look better and more detailed. Some cannot tell the difference between 16bit and 32bit, likewise there is a performance hit if you chose to go with 32bit. If you have a medium-good graphics card, set it at 32bit. If you have an integrated - low graphics card, mess around and see how much of a performance boost you may get if you would rather go with 16bit.


Aelotropic

http://i56.tinypic.com/2h31zk9.png
What it is: Might refer to Anti-Aliasing(?) Anti-Aliasing basically helps to reduce those "stair like" edged on renders such as characters and guns. (It may not refer to anti-aliasing, and if it does not, disregard the information below.)
Options: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.
Best optimization: Usually, increasing the screen resolution is a better tradeoff than turning on anti-aliasing. This option should be at around 1 for integrated - medium video cards and at around 4-6 on high-end video cards seeing as anti-aliasing requires loads of graphics performance.


Detail

http://i53.tinypic.com/30wuulx.png
What it is: Allows you to chose the options for video detail (characters, weapons, environment and so on).
Options: Low, Med(ium), High.
Best optimization: Completely depends on your video card. This is self-explanatory. If you have a low end or integrated graphics card, go with low. If you have a medium graphics card, go with medium, and of course, if you have a high end graphics card, hit it up with High.



The Visual Appealers
The settings under this group is user-preferred. Other than the information listed below, what the choice is does not really matter much.

Full Screen/Windowed Mode

http://i56.tinypic.com/sbirnn.png
What it is: Allows you to chose whether you want to play MAT in windowed or full screen mode.
Options: Full Screen, Window.
Best optimization: Recommended to stay at full screen. Windowed mode sometimes requires more FPS to render the video at a high quality. In addition, if you are playing in windowed mode, you are always at the risk of clicking outside the application on another ending up interrupting your gameplay.


Brightness

http://i55.tinypic.com/k0ow47.png
What it is: Gives you the option to change your brightness accordingly.
Options: Slider: 1 - 100.
Best Optimization: This again, is one of those options that would please you differently. Chose the brightness that you think fits right. Keep in regards your room lighting and all. This option does not have a noticeable impact on performance.



The Performance Thugs
These options also make/break the game's performance. These options should only be resorted to or looked at if you have a medium - high end graphics/video card.


Shadow

http://i51.tinypic.com/e12slj.png

What it is: Lets the user chose whether he/she wants to view shadows (objects, environment, characters and so on).
Options: Checked, Unchecked.
Best optimization: Turn this option off if you have no - low graphics card, and check the option on if you have a medium - high end video card


Vertical Sync/v-sync

http://i54.tinypic.com/dbgv88.png

What it is: When checked, the v-sync caps (does not allow to go over) the Frames Per Second to your monitor's refresh rate (usually at 60hz). For example, if your monitor has a refresh rate of 85hz then v-sync will not allow the FPS to exceed 85Frames Per Second.
Options: Checked, Unchecked.
Best optimization: Simply, you need a graphics card that can keep up with your Refresh rate if you wish to enable this option. If you have a graphics card that is capable of 20FPS and you have a refresh rate of 60hz, you get bad buffer requests. So for example, r[1] will give you the first frame and because you have v-sync enabled, it assumes that the FPS is around the same speed as the Monitor's refresh rate. So if r[2] gets drawn while r[1] is not done, you have just skipped r[2] (any frame) until r[3]. Essentially, you are getting a worse FPS than you should if you enable v-sync on a low end video card.
Likewise, if you have a graphics card that can go over your monitor's refresh limit, it is advised you check this option so you do not see a fluctuation in FPS.
If you have v-sync disabled, you are at risk of image tearing (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Screen_tearing).


Trillinear Filtration

http://i55.tinypic.com/2n99wnc.png

What it is: Triple Buffering renders the next frame into the buffer if the video card has time.
Options: Checked, Unchecked.
Best optimization: Turn this option on if you have v-sync enabled, if you do not have v-sync enabled, it is up to you to mess around with it and see if you get an FPS hit when it is on/off.



That's it!
Well, of course you have the option to restore to defaults. Do that if you realize that you are getting horrible FPS all of a sudden, but other than that, there are no more video options :)


Thanks for sticking through the long ride in understanding and optimizing the video options in MATOnline!

If you would like to add something, or notice that something is wrong, please leave a comment so I can fix it right away!

~Epic

Fervid
September 26th, 2010, 06:56 PM
I think this deserves a sticky, don't you!? Well done mate, thanks for posting this.

EpicMAT
September 26th, 2010, 06:59 PM
Thanks for the sticky and the props! Hope this helps others!

FruitTart
September 26th, 2010, 11:03 PM
I think this deserves a sticky, don't you!? Well done mate, thanks for posting this.

I agree.. Mod, GMs please sticky this !!!

Jumpr
September 27th, 2010, 01:21 PM
Great post Epic, I'm gonna try the V-Sync+Trilinear today, see if it does any difference!

SkullShield
September 27th, 2010, 02:26 PM
Great Post! ;)

EpicMAT
September 27th, 2010, 05:42 PM
Thanks all :D


Can't wait to get my next tutorial out! (When I get some free time on my hands)

RedIceBlaze
September 27th, 2010, 11:44 PM
This post got stickied like 2 minutes after it was posted. lmfao. GJ EPIC. Toronto FTW.

Fervid
September 27th, 2010, 11:54 PM
This post got stickied like 2 minutes after it was posted. lmfao. GJ EPIC. Toronto FTW.

:P He said in another post he was making a tutorial, so I waited for it. :)

EpicMAT
September 28th, 2010, 12:53 AM
:P He said in another post he was making a tutorial, so I waited for it. :)

And I thank you for that :D! I'm actually really starting to like this game, let alone the community!

Airk
September 28th, 2010, 11:54 AM
My monitor resulotin is 1600x900 yet I only see a max option of 1024x768 in the game??? Why aren't the other options available? Also, is there a way to "force widescreen" mode?

Fervid
September 28th, 2010, 01:42 PM
My monitor resulotin is 1600x900 yet I only see a max option of 1024x768 in the game??? Why aren't the other options available? Also, is there a way to "force widescreen" mode?

The games resolution doesn't take place until you have actually entered a round for battle. During all the other menus and room areas, it's fixed at 1024x768.

Airk
September 28th, 2010, 02:01 PM
Doesn't make a difference. See the screenshots below. Max option is only 1024x768.

http://img836.imageshack.us/img836/7641/screenshot1wz.jpg
http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/9986/screenshot2d.jpg

Fervid
September 28th, 2010, 02:12 PM
ohh that's weird.. i have many more options than that.. I have about 6 or 8 different resolutions to choose from.. Maybe you could try updating your video drivers.

Airk
September 28th, 2010, 05:00 PM
But it only happens on this game? Other games I get all video options, I know its very weird; is there any way to force the game to display the various reslotions... like editing a .cfg or .ini file? Maybe a GM can look into this?

EpicMAT
September 28th, 2010, 06:16 PM
Heyy.

This seems to be a rare problem I am guessing.

I am going to have to give you a generic response, re-install the client.

Go ahead and unistall the game. From there, go to your subagames folder and delete it. Then go back to re-downloading and re-installing the client :D

That should fix it up!


if not, ill look into it

~Epic

Airk
September 29th, 2010, 01:45 PM
So I re-installed the game, same issue. If it matters, my display adapter is an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470; it plays games very well but for whatever reason the display resolution for MATonline will only go to 1024x768 max... a bit frustrating.

EpicMAT
September 29th, 2010, 05:45 PM
Yea, I understand how that can be annoying.

What are the resolutions that you get in windowed (should be the same, but are they different?)

Maybe switching to and from windowed mode should help with the options showing up.

This is the first that I have heard of a problem like that, I can only imagine it being client sided (your client) meaning that you are one of (maybe) a few who have run into this problem. There might be conflicting programs, but I doubt it.

I'll have a look at the configuration files and if I notice something happening within them, I'll send it over to you.

Airk
September 29th, 2010, 09:21 PM
Doesn't matter if I switch from Window to Full Screen; I only have two options: 800x600 and 1024x768. I've disabled that Catalyst AI in my ATI Properties to see if that would help, but didn't make any difference. Its just weird that other games I can select a higher resolution.

Would be much appreciated if something could be figured out. Thanks!

TheUKarnage
October 2nd, 2010, 12:54 AM
thb im not trying to sound ignorant or anything but all you did was repeat " depending on your graphics card" . What im about to tell you will change your life. Lowest settings possible = more frame rates.

EpicMAT
October 3rd, 2010, 12:39 PM
thb im not trying to sound ignorant or anything but all you did was repeat " depending on your graphics card" . What im about to tell you will change your life. Lowest settings possible = more frame rates.

I do that, i still get 60fps, why? oh right :P, reason explained in post!

JacksonJive
October 9th, 2010, 06:33 PM
but seriously though, what does the aelotropic function do exactly?

EpicMAT
October 9th, 2010, 06:35 PM
No one has tried correcting me so far.

From what I See, all it does is it uses GPU power to help render the objects more smoothely.

No one is sure here, we may need a dev's comment, but so far, it acts as anti-aliasing (from what i'm guessing.)

Takes off the Jagged ends.

IXISIXPACIXI
December 9th, 2010, 03:40 PM
Great post Ive often wanted to know what some settings meant. I am new here Downloading the game now. Thanks for the post!

Shurland17
April 2nd, 2011, 06:23 PM
hey thanks a lot for those tutorials it really helps boost my performance.

EmobunnyX
June 10th, 2011, 04:53 PM
Nice work keep it up xD

Burgarna
August 15th, 2011, 02:29 AM
Properly improving system performance and FPS!. (http://forum.subagames.com/showthread.php?t=32248)

alternate tweaking methods and drivers for games and overall system performance.

SlanteyeZ
December 18th, 2011, 09:11 AM
This is great man! It helped (:

GoMeepUrself
March 24th, 2013, 11:12 AM
can you set a screen resolution for 1920x1080 in the game please?

SnortWhistle
March 25th, 2014, 01:13 AM
My system, when put into full screen mode, shows only the center section of the actual monitor and the left portion of the "displayed screen" is cut off. The pointer will go past the "edge" of the displayed portion, but it is blank. I have updated my drivers and this is a new graphics card. I had the same problem with the old Graphics On board Adapter. I've tried a mixture of settings and it always does the same thing.

Any Ideas???