PDA

View Full Version : First job for a beginner?

Divini
December 12th, 2014, 01:19 PM
I'm going to be a first time player when this comes out. Excited~~!!

However, I've been kind of divided on what job to pick as my first. If I was a veteran player I'd have a plan... but all I can go on now is the wiki and reading these forums.

Doing my research, this is my thought process on the classes so far: (sorry for length)

Merc: Can party easily, but being a first timer I wouldn't know how to tank properly yet. Also, repairs looks expensive, I hear tanks have to carry 3 sets of armor? Dang. Also not sure on the Merc's solo'ing power w/o subs in times I can't party.
BM: Looks rough for a first class with no subs. Hard to party too.
Fencer: Looks to be a good choice, but MP will be an issue with no subs? Need more info.
Thief: Seems like a great class to start with. I wonder how is the Thief's killing power and survivability as a first class?
MA: Couldn't find much in-depth info, but I'm assuming MA's are in the same boat as BM's?
Doc: Has probably the most useful sub, but I'd have to rely on parties all the time if it's my first. Leveling looks extremely slow when I can't party up and have to solo. It would be great if it was easy to find a party, but not sure if it will be...
Dancer: Seems like a popular starting class based on this forum, why is that? Can a beginner like me easily pick the class up? Does it do well without subs?
Muse: Looking at this class, it's a class that I should get around to eventually, but it doesn't look like a class that should be my very first. It looks like I'd need a pet, and I'm most likely not dropping cash on this game on Day 1, obviously.
Sham: Offensive caster that can cast for free, another seemingly good choice. Don't know how effective subbing Sham into future jobs though.