Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Cant open the patcher. Very odd.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    546

    Default Cant open the patcher. Very odd.

    So I installed the game earlier and was able to log in fine. I logged out as normal, and when I tried to log in again, the patcher doesn't even open. The best I get is the little patcher loading window opening up and IMMEDIATELY closing itself.

    Here's what I've tried:

    Enabling/Disabling DEP for Ace Online
    Running in Administrator Mode
    Disabling my Firewall
    Ran compatibility mode for all modes, and types available.
    Reinstalled under Admin Mode.

    My OS is Windows 10, btw. Just weird it won't load for me anymore.

    Edit: Should also note I'm downloading the manual patch so that I can try that solution. I don't see why this is suddenly occurring without any provocation. The game doesn't even list as an open app in Task Manager.
    Last edited by Kyithios; June 25th, 2016 at 08:31 PM.
    I think igear is a pretty cool guy. eh fires missiles and doesnt afraid of anything.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    546

    Default

    Really, not even a single reply in a few days?

    Well, to update: I tried the manual patch. No good, still does the same thing, and it doesn't even give me any error messages.

    I don't understand. I tried AR and it loads fine. Unfortunately I don't want to play in a European server when I'm in the US, so...Really? No support at all?
    I think igear is a pretty cool guy. eh fires missiles and doesnt afraid of anything.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Chasing U
    Posts
    7,176

    Default

    Can't help you, I still use windows 7.
    Best thing I can think of is just totally uninstall and reinstall normally.
    Higher your FPS/game performance with this: http://************/pd9uqdx
    Youtube Channel: http://************/mj9slvx
    Change your signature with ease: http://forum.subagames.com/profile.php?do=editsignature

    Quote Originally Posted by Involution View Post
    In the last month, IronlEye has absolutely no hack logs on his account, for what that's worth. Most players get even a few false positives.

    It's almost... suspicious...

    Got any questions ingame ACE related, feel free to send me a message via Skype: Ox.Cart

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    546

    Default

    Tried a fresh install and uninstall. I even tried installing it to a USB drive.
    I think igear is a pretty cool guy. eh fires missiles and doesnt afraid of anything.

  5. #5

    Default

    Hey kyth!

    <<<< swim

  6. #6

    Default

    I have the same problem. Did you ever find a solution?

  7. #7

    Default I have the same issue.

    I know this thread is super old by now, but i have the exact same issue on windows 10 build 1909.
    I've tried all the nemtioned steps you tried, even tried reinstalling my GPU drivers and testing different versions of it.

    If anyone have any ideas whats going on it would be much appreciated with some help in the matter.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Illinois, United States
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Well, anyone that remembers a specific solution has died of old age by now. There is a pretty good chance that Windows is the problem though, since this game was optimized for XP. I would suggest checking the Event Viewer, which can sometimes give you a better idea of what is crashing the game on your particular computer.

    Random link here if you aren't familiar with the viewer: https://www.dummies.com/computers/op...in-windows-10/

    The section you want is the Application logs, which as you could see in the screenshot in that link is in the Windows Logs folder on the left, on the main screen when clicking on the "Event Viewer (Local)" item in the same section. It can be a real mess, but it helps to get as much info about the error as you can.

  9. #9

    Default I have the same issue.

    thanks for the reply, my dude.

    The event viewer is not registering that i've tried to boot the application even... so that wont help me. But why? What would cause it to not recognize it?

    I understand that there might be no sudden fix for this... sucks cause i really was coming back to this game...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Illinois, United States
    Posts
    116

    Default

    It not showing up isn't necessarily bad. It seems more like it's not crashing and just closing for some reason. There are also .dmp files that are created in the base Ace Online folder when the game crashes, but they are encrypted and you can't really get any information out of that. I remember going into System and then Advanced ->Performance -> data execution prevention and adding AO's executable to the "Turn on DEP for all programs and services except for those I select" list did fix a similar problem for people years ago, where the launcher just refused to run. Change that back immediately if it doesn't work, though. Other than that, you can always try installing the game in a different location.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •